EN | DE
Theoretische Informatik

Communication and Parallel Processes

coffee_machine.png

Next edition: Summer 2014.

The theory of communicating and concurrent agents belongs to the core of theoretical computer science. The goal of the course is to provide formalised foundations for the concept of a process lurking behind any modern software or hardware system, from an operating cycle of a vending machine to the core processes behind the UNIX command line.

In this course we provide the basics of this theory, taking as the starting point Milner's calculus of Concurrent Communicating Systems (CCS). In contrast to its close counterpart, automata theory, the theory of communicating processes is focused on behaviours of systems rather than on formal languages corresponding to them. This leads to a presentation of agents as branching structures generated by recursive definitions in a somewhat similar way as regular languages are generated by regular expressions. The resulting framework that we consider combines the following features:

  • A pseudo-programming language focusing on the most crucial concurrent primitives;
  • Isolation of basic principles and techniques for reasoning about processes;
  • Focusing on a very simple paradigm of synchronous handshakes by reading/writing messages through a channel.

Based on the elementary case of CCS we discuss formalisations of real-world examples, equivalence of formalized multi-agent systems by using the fundamental notion of bisimulation and formal verification of properties of processes.

Further on, we move to a more advanced successor of CCS, the pi-calculus, extending CCS by allowing for dynamic name creation and process replication.

Finally, we consider various systems of Modal logic associated to the process calculi such as Linear temporal logic, Computational tree logic and the Modal mu-calculus. We study by numerous examples of how process calculi can be used in conjunction with process logics for verification, i.e. for specifying and proving properties of processes.

EN | DE
Theoretische Informatik

Communication and Parallel Processes

coffee_machine.png

Next edition: Sommer 2014.

Die Theorie der kommunizierenden nebenläufigen Agenten gehört zum Kern der theoretischen Informatik. Das Ziel dies Kurses ist es, ein formalisiertes Fundament des Begriffs “Prozess” zu entwickeln, der sich hinter jedem modernen Software- oder Hardware-System versteckt, von einem Arbeitszyklus eines Warenautomaten bis zu den Kernprozessen hinter der UNIX-Konsole.

In diesem Kurs stellen wir die Grundlagen dieser Theorie bereit, mit Milner's Kalkül der //Concurrent Communicating Systems// (CCS) als Ausgangspunkt. Im Gegensatz zu ihrem engen Verwandten, der Automatentheorie, ist die Theorie der kommunizierenden Prozesse auf das reaktive Verhalten von Systemen ausgerichtet statt auf formale Sprachen. In CCS führt dies zu einer Präsentation von Agenten als verzweigte Strukturen; diese werden rekursiv über einen syntaktischen Formalismus, eine Prozessalgebra, erzeugt, ähnlich wie reguläre Sprachen durch reguläre Ausdrücke beschrieben werden. Das sich daraus ergebende Rahmenwerk hat folgende Bestandteile:

  • Eine Pseudo-Programmiersprache mit nebenläufigen Primitiven;
  • grundlegende Prinzipien und Techniken für das Schlussfolgern über Prozesse;
  • ein sehr einfaches Paradigma synchroner Handshakes durch Lesen/Schreiben von Messages über einen Kanal.

Basierend auf dem elementaren Fall des CCS-Kalküls diskutieren wir

  • Formalisierungen anwendungsnaher Beispiele
  • Äquivalenzen der formalisierten Multi-Agenten-Systeme mithilfe des grundlegenden Begriffs der Bisimulation
  • formale Verifikation von Prozesseigenschaften.

Wir fahren fort, indem wir den pi-Kalkül definieren, der CCS durch dynamische Erzeugung und Kommunikation von Kanalnamen erweitert, so dass die Kommunikationsstruktur von Prozessen dynamisch rekonfiguriertbar wird.

Schließlich betrachten wir verschiedene Systeme der Modallogik zur Spezifikation von Prozessen, wie z.B. Linear temporal Logic, Computational tree logic und der modale µ-Kalkül. Wir untersuchen anhand zahlreicher Beispiele, wie Prozessalgebren in Verbindung mit Prozesslogiken in der Formalen Verifikation benutzt werden können.